Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire

Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire

EnglishPaperback / softbackPrint on demand
Lessing, Doris
HarperCollins Publishers
EAN: 9780006547228
Print on demand
Delivery on Thursday, 9. of May 2024
CZK 266
Common price CZK 296
Discount 10%
pc
Do you want this product today?
Oxford Bookshop Praha Korunní
not available
Librairie Francophone Praha Štěpánská
not available
Oxford Bookshop Ostrava
not available
Oxford Bookshop Olomouc
not available
Oxford Bookshop Plzeň
not available
Oxford Bookshop Brno
not available
Oxford Bookshop Hradec Králové
not available
Oxford Bookshop České Budějovice
not available

Detailed information

From Doris Lessing, winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature, the fifth and final instalment in the visionary novel cycle ‘Canopus in Argos: Archives’.

‘The Sentimental Agents …’ is set in the declining Volyen Empire as the empires of Sirius and Shammat compete to overwhelm it with rhetoric and false sentiment. The Canopean Empire deploys covert agents to help the Volyens resist. But one of these agents, Incent, succumbs to ‘Undulant Rhetoric’, and Agent Klorathy must go to Volyen to help him see through the empty words that have beguiled him.

Once more employing alien races to identify human failings, Lessing uses social and political satire to show how we misuse speech (and speeches) and delude ourselves with self-aggrandizing notions about the primacy of emotion. Her renowned insight into human behaviour goes hand in hand here with a vein of humour that sees her writing in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift.

EAN 9780006547228
ISBN 0006547222
Binding Paperback / softback
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date May 23, 1994
Pages 224
Language English
Dimensions 198 x 129 x 12
Country United Kingdom
Authors Lessing, Doris