The Women of the Castle

Shattuck, Jessica; Zaffre Publishing; 2017
The Women of the Castle

The Women of the Castle

Shattuck, Jessica; Zaffre Publishing; 2017
Na objednávku
Předpokládané dodání v pondělí, 09. července 2018
368 Kč s DPH
Ušetříte 41 Kč 409 Kč (-10%)
In war they made impossible choices. Now can they live with them?

'Moving . . . surprises and devastates' New York Times
'Masterful' People
'Mesmerising . . . reveals new truths about one of history's most tragic eras' USA Today

The Third Reich has crumbled. The Russians are coming.

Marianne von Lingenfels - widow of a resister murdered by the Nazi regime - finds refuge in the crumbling Bavarian castle where she once played host to German high society. There she fulfils her promise to find and protect the wives and children of her husband's brave conspirators, rescuing her dearest friend's widow, Benita, from sexual slavery to the Russian army, and Ania from a work camp for political prisoners. As Marianne assembles this makeshift family she is certain their shared pain will bind them together.

But as Benita begins a clandestine relationship and Ania struggles to conceal her role in the Nazi regime, Marianne learns that her clear-cut, highly principled world view has no place in these new, frightening and emotionally-charged days.

All three women must grapple with the realities they now face, and the consequences of decisions each made in the darkest of times . . .

Deeply moving and compelling, The Women of the Castle is a heart-wrenching and hopeful novel of secrets and survival, a reckoning, and the astonishing power of forgiveness. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Reader and The Light Between Oceans.
EAN
9781785762710
ISBN
1785762710
Typ produktu
Hardback
Vydavatel
Zaffre Publishing
Datum vydání
18.05.2017
Stránky
368
Jazyk
Angličtina
Rozměry
166 x 241 x 34
Země
United Kingdom
Sekce
General
Autoři
Shattuck, Jessica
PRODUCT UPDATE
8 801 084 Knižních titulů v nabídce
Osobní odběr zdarma na 10 místech po celé České republice
Největší knižní nabídka na českém internetu
Dárkové balení knih zdarma
Knihy z celého světa

Akceptujeme

PayPal Visa Visa Electron Maestro Mastercard
Tento web používá k poskytování služeb, personalizaci reklam a analýze návštěvnosti soubory cookies. Používáním tohoto webu s tím souhlasíte. Více informací
Rozumím